Icebox Cryotherapy

Cryosauna

 

Studio: Icebox Cryotherapy

Description from website: Icebox Cryotherapy uses gasiform nitrogen to lower the client’s skin surface temperature from normal body temperature to 30 degrees Fahrenheit in 30 seconds or less and keeps it that way for two-three minutes. The skin reacts to the cold and sends messages to the brain that acts as a stimulant to the regulatory functions of the body. It produces the scanning of all areas that may not be working to their fullest potential.

Cryo_DeskIcebox Storefront

Location: Buckhead Court Shopping Center, 3872 Roswell Road, Suite A-2, Atlanta, GA 30342

Phone: (404) 890-7066

Cost: Single sessions are $70.  They also offer packages for multiple sessions.

What to Bring: Yourself.

What to wear: Anything!  You’re going to end up taking it all off when you get there.  They provide you with a plush robe, gloves, and, booties (not to keep, just to borrow).   Don’t worry, no one sees you naked but you!

Plush robe, warm gloves, comfy boots provided by Icebox.

Plush robe, warm gloves, comfy boots provided by Icebox.

What to expect: After signing in and filling out the appropriate waivers, I had my blood pressure taken to ensure that it was not too high or too low.  This was done because your blood pressure may fluctuate during the treatment.  Following the BP reading I was shown to a private Cryo_Des BPdressing room that connected to the treatment room.  After putting on my birthday suit, the robe, the gloves, and the boots I was ready (and slightly nervous) for the ice box (technically called the cryosauna)!  After getting into the cryosauna I removed my robe and braced myself.  It’s like a giant tube with an opening for your head to stick out of the top, so I don’t imagine that people with claustrophobia would have a problem.  You stand the entire time you’re in the cryosauna, and none of your body touches any part of it, so don’t worry about your naked bits touching places other people’s naked bits have been.  Since the session only lasts three minutes the cryosauna got chilly quickly.  In the first minute I felt myself getting a little panicky because it got really freaking cold, making it a little difficult to breath, but I was able to calm myself down with some deep breaths, and a little conversation with the staff keeping me company during my arctic endeavors.  I am not going to lie, It was a looooong three minutes, even so, it was still much more tolerable than an ice bath.  Just so you know, there is no water involved, it’s just a super cold fog that chills you to the bone…in a good way!  Once the treatment was over, I put on my robe and I went back to the dressing room to get dressed.  No need to shower before or after (at least no need to shower because of the treatment) just dress and go! I was offered warm tea and, believe it or not, a stationary bike to pedal, if I needed to warm up before leaving (the bike is not done naked…only the cryotherapy), but the freezing feeling had gone away once the treatment was over and I put on the robe.  A few minutes after finishing the treatment I started to feel amped up, like I had just consumed a few cups of coffee.  This feeling lasted for a few hours.  The following day, I didn’t notice a big difference, however, two days after visiting Icebox my knees felt great and the dull aches and pains that haunt me on a daily basis were barely noticeable.

Cryosauna

Who should do this treatment: Athletes, weekend warriors, people who exercise regularly, anyone who has soreness, aches and pains, crackling joints, and other irritating ailments that plague active people.  Icebox provides a list of health issues that prohibit you from getting cryotherapy treatment so make sure you read the list carefully when filling out the waivers.

Professional advice: Don’t psych yourself out.  I got nervous right before entering the cryosauna and I think that is what freaked me out, not the actual treatment or the cryosauna.  Just remember that it’s only three minutes, less than a song, and you can jump out at any time.  The absence of achy irritation a couple days later is worth three minutes of being naked in a frozen tundra.

Thank you to the staff at Icebox for a wonderful and refreshing experience!

 

  1. #1 by Diane Nathanson on May 7, 2014 - 12:53 pm

    Don’t know if I could do it. Is there an age limit?

    _____

Leave a Reply

