Egg Cup Snacks

Image

Well I finally decided to give eggs in a cupcake tin a try, and am I glad I did!  I am NOT good at waking up in the morning.  If I have to wake up before 10, I hit snooze over and over and over again and when I do finally get up, I’m rushing around to get ready.  Because of my horrible wakeup habits, I rarely have time to cram some food down my gullet.  This time constraint has made me resort to Rise protein bars, which I love, but some days I need to save my bar for later in the day to eat as a quick snack between classes or driving around.  This is what led me to experiment with the following recipe.

I have been looking at different egg snack recipes over the years and found this recipe today which finally kicked my cooking butt into gear.  The veggies that I used in my recipe were ones I already had in my house, so feel free to experiment!  

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups egg whites or egg product (Of course, I used the Costco brand egg product)
  • 1/2 bell pepper, diced (I used a yellow one)
  • 1/2 tomato, diced
  • 1-2 cups broccoli, chopped into small pieces

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray small frying pan with nonstick cooking spray.  Saute peppers, tomatoes, and broccoli in a small pan for 5 minutes.  While vegetables are cooking, spray cupcake tray with nonstick cooking spray (I used a tin with a standard cupcake size and 12 cups).  Once vegetables are done cooking, divide them evenly between the cups.  Pour 3 Tbsp of egg white or egg product into each cup.   Put tray in oven and cook for 20 minutes.  Let them cool.  Store in the fridge and microwave for 30 seconds when you’re ready to eat them!  (Depending on your microwave, you might need to use more or less time.)  

Experiment with spices and different veggies to please your taste buds.  Please post any modifications you make so we can try them out!

 

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by AlexOnActing on April 3, 2013 - 10:31 am

    Love the recipe ideas!

  2. #3 by Laura Smith on April 3, 2013 - 4:07 pm

    I have snooze problem too! I make these with spinach and just a little turkey bacon chopped finely. Yum.

  3. #5 by Laura on April 3, 2013 - 11:44 pm

    Thanks for the link! 🙂 I like the tomato idea, I’ll have to try that one out.

    • #6 by fitdesiree on April 4, 2013 - 9:04 am

      My pleasure! I am going to experiment with them a little more this weekend 🙂

  4. #7 by thesweatproject on April 4, 2013 - 12:22 pm

    Made these last night. Added small pieces of potato and jalapeno too. Yummo. I’m going to try them next time with egg substitute and add spinach too.

    • #8 by fitdesiree on April 4, 2013 - 1:05 pm

      Ooh I didn’t think of potato! That’s like breakfast in a cup 🙂

  1. April 1 – 3 | The Sweat Project

Leave a Reply

