No bake protein bars!

It’s not that I’m opposed to cooking and baking, I enjoy it when I do, but sometimes I just want something quick and easy that I can have on hand as a snack.  I have taken bits and pieces from protein bar recipes I have seen over the years and added some of my own touches for a yummy, easy-to-make, power-packed, satisfying protein bar.  Try experimenting to personalize your protein bar recipe!  Add nuts, dried fruit, even chocolate chips if you get bored with this combination.

Ingredients

1 cup dried oats

5 scoops vanilla whey protein powder (Vegans can use vanilla soy protein isolate powder, thanks for the tip, Cathy!)

5 Tbsp natural peanut butter

3 Tbsp hemp seed

1/2 cup skim milk (Substitute with almond, soy milk, water, etc)

1 tsp vanilla extract

Water as needed

Spray a baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Mix well.  Add peanut butter, milk, and vanilla extract.  Mix well.  If the mixture is too dry, add 1 Tbsp of water at a time until it is a thick and sticky dough.  Spread the dough onto the baking pan using a spatula that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  If you have a larger pan, shape the dough into a rectangle, standing about 1/2 inch thick.  Freeze for 1 hour and cut into 6-9 squares*.  (Less squares = more calories, fat, carbohydrates, and protein.)  Wrap individual squares in wax paper and store in refrigerator.

*As my friend Megan suggested, you can use fun cookie cutters too…I will not be providing the nutritional information for fun shapes.

Nutritional information for 6 bars:

286 calories, 11g fat, 15g carbohydrates, 30g protein

Nutritional information for 9 bars:

191 calories, 8g fat, 10g carbohydrates, 20g protein

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Noreen on September 26, 2012 - 8:51 pm

    Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with
    my facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

Leave a Reply

