The big V challenge.

Two thumbs up for veggies!

Check out my website www.fitdesiree.com!

I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, but I had to make sure I was ready to follow through with it myself.  I’m finally ready!  For the next week, I challenge you to eat one serving of veggies at every meal and snack.   You read that correctly, every single meal and snack!  The rules for the challenge are as follows:

  • Eat 1 serving of veggies at every meal and snack.
  • If you do not currently eat a lot of vegetables, then you may substitute one serving of fruit for a serving of veggies at some of your snacks and meals.
  • Veggies can be fresh or frozen.

    They pretty much cancel each other out.

  • A serving of veggies does NOT count if it is drenched in butter, cheese, or ranch dressing.  (e.g. spinach casserole, broccoli with cheese sauce, salad with ranch dressing)
  • Veggies can be seasoned with any herbs, spices, or sodium free seasonings.
  • Veggies can be raw, baked, broiled, sauteed (small amount of oil, cooking spray would be better), steamed, food processed, added to smoothies, and any other healthy preparations you can think of (please comment below if I’ve left something out).
  • Salads do not count if they are drenched in ranch, bleu cheese, thousand island, or any other creamy, high calorie dressings.
  • On the salad note, I’m going to have to disqualify iceberg lettuce as a veggie.  But you can use it as a bed for other vegetables!
  • Veggies can be paired with hummus, Greek yogurt, natural nut butter, or any other healthy dip choices that you can think of. (Comment below with any recipes you may have.)
  • If you miss having a veggie at one meal or snack, you can double up on veggies at the next one.

For lists of vegetables and serving sizes, check out choosemyplate.gov.

And finally, I’ll leave you with some tips to sneak veggies in to your daily diet:

  • Add veggies to an omelette. (e.g. spinach, mushrooms, peppers, onions, tomatoes)
  • Have a mixed veggie salad with your breakfast like this one.
  • Add veggies to your pizza. (I’m not condoning the consumption of pizza, but if you do eat it, at least add some veggies!)
  • Add avocado, lettuce, tomato, cucumber and/or onion to a sandwich.
  • Add frozen broccoli to a smoothie.  I promise you can’t taste it!
  • Go old school and have ants on a log.  Spread a natural nut butter on celery sticks and top with raisins.  Or have ladybugs on a log and top it with dried cranberries.
  • Have a big salad.  Toss spinach, peppers, onions, avocado, tomatoes, and any other veggies you want with lemon juice or a light vinaigrette dressing.
  • Cut up some carrots, cucumbers, or peppers and dip them in hummus.
  • Cut up some carrots, cucumbers, or peppers and dip them in Greek Yogurt dip.  (mix 1 cup plain Greek yogurt, lemon juice to taste, garlic to taste, and dill to taste)

I would love vegetable and recipe suggestions.  We tend to stick with what is familiar to us, so I want to hear what kind of veggies are consumed around the world!

  1. #1 by laura smith on May 23, 2012 - 12:51 am

    Why are we still awake? I will try to do. Thank you my friend.

  2. #2 by laura smith on May 23, 2012 - 12:52 am

    ment is awaiting moderation.

    Why are we still awake? I will try to do. Thank you my friend.

  3. #3 by Abbey on May 23, 2012 - 7:50 am

    grilling veggies like asparagus, zucchini or brussell sprouts (which no one likes) is really good. Lightly coat in olive oil and a little salt and pepper and you are good to go. can’t grill….roasted also helps bring out yummy flavors. I recently roasted green beans and they were really good.

  4. #4 by Nell Rose Steed on May 23, 2012 - 7:59 am

    Edamame with a little salt and chili powder sprinkled on top!

  5. #5 by Amrita on May 23, 2012 - 9:02 am

    Great post! I try to get veggies in my diet but I often don’t think too much about it.
    I normally hate the taste of kale, but laying it out on a baking sheet (sprinkled with salt and pepper) and then baking it for 20 minutes at 300 degrees makes it taste AMAZING! More chip-like and awesome. It’s a good snack to have.
    I also really like making a shrimp and avocado salad, but using the Asian green ‘A Choy’ in it… I find it a bit more flavorful than regular lettuce, although pretty sure the combo of shrimp and avocado are the star…
    Or steaming asparagus and tossing garlic and soy sauce on it (really quick weeknight veggie side).
    Should I be putting broccoli in my smoothie in addition to already putting in spinach?
    I’ve only recently become obsessed with avocado, as well as shallots; they both make sandwiches taste so much better.
    Thanks for all the tips!

  6. #6 by Frances on May 23, 2012 - 11:41 am

    I like to buy raw spinach to use as a base for salads in place of lettuce and to put on my sandwiches or wraps at lunch. It seems like the spinach stays fresh longer than lettuce, so I find that I can keep it around longer and toss out less due to spoilage. I’ll buy a couple of big bags of frozen veggies (usually asparagus or green beans) and keep them in the freezer so I can grab a handful to steam or roast when I’m short on time or want a quick snack.

  7. #7 by Abbey on May 23, 2012 - 12:21 pm

    Edamame replaced popcorn as my movie snack.

  8. #8 by Jeff on August 26, 2012 - 12:28 am

    I did try cucumber juice for a week after meals. I guess that already counts. It is rich in vitamin A and a Sufficient amounts of vitamin A can also help promote healthy and intact surface lining in the eyes, respiratory tract, urinary tract and gastrointestinal tract. It has a calcium and sodium.

Leave a Reply

