What time is it? Booty Time!

Great butts come in all shapes and sizes!

Check out my website www.fitdesiree.com!

“So Cosmo says you’re fat, well I ain’t down with that!  ‘Cause your waist is small and your curves are kickin’ and I’m thinkin’ bout stickin.”–Sir Mix-A-Lot

I hope that if you’ve been reading my blog for a while now, you know that I like to “keep it real.”  Well I’d like to keep on keep keepin’ it real on another popular topic, one of the most serenaded parts of the anatomy, and Sir Mix-a-Lot’s favorite body part, the arse, bottom, rump, patootie, rear…da butt.

Your butt consists of the gluteus maximus, gluteus medius, and gluteus minimus muscles.  As with any muscle, you can do exercises to strengthen, tone, and increase the size of these muscles.  There are hundreds, maybe even thousands of exercises you can do to target your cheeks, but no matter how many exercises you do you will NOT be able to build a butt like Kim Kardashian, Beyonce, or JLo, unless you were born with it.  Those voluptuous rear ends were not made, they were refined with exercise.  The size of those signature derrieres is all thanks to their parents.

Baby got a smidgen of back...

I can thank my parents for many things, a long infinite list of things, but bubble butt is not on that list.  The small bump that I do have back there, is thanks to years of dancing, some serious training over the past couple of years, and more recently, HIIT (my high intensity interval training class that I like to sneak glute-targeting exercises into every month).

Could she BE any hotter?!

I absolutely adore JLo.  She’s gorgeous, she has an incredible body, she’s a fantastic performer, and I appreciate her bodacious bottom, but I know that I will NEVER have an ass-tastic behind like hers.  I’m not being negative, I’m being realistic.

With that being said, I want you to approach goal setting for your posterior from a realistic standpoint.  Please, by all means, set goals that are achievable like firming, lifting, tightening, and toning your fanny, but do NOT set ass-inine goals that will set you up for failure.  If your butt is in the size-range of mine, do not set a goal to have a JLo booty, unless you’re planning on surgery.  I’m not looking at the glass as being half empty, I’m keepin’ the glass real.

Varying my squat, with a little help from Sake!

Two tried and true exercises that will firm, lift, and strengthen your keister are lunges and squats.  Focus on form when doing these exercises because it’s easy to engage your quadriceps more than your glutes.  Really press through your heels when you come back to a standing position to engage your glutes and your hammies (that’s the technical term for hamstrings).  Remember, quality over quantity!  There are hundreds of variations of these two exercises, so try them all!

Add some plyometrics to make these two exercises even more dynamic.  Click on these links for an animated how to on split squat jumps (AKA plyo lunges) and jump squats.

  1. #1 by Maya on April 25, 2012 - 5:41 pm

    A few weeks ago, a co-worker approached me in the teacher’s lounge and said, “You look like you’ve lost weight. You look great!” Had she left it at that, I would’ve been perfectly happy. But noooo. She immediately squashed my inflating ego by adding, “I mean before, you had no butt. But now you have NO no butt.” And I’m pretty sure that the double negative here does not make it a positive.
    Look, my ass-less-ness is not news to me. I’ve never had much of a butt, but now in my 30’s, I’ve finally come to terms with it. Sure, I still have fantasies of getting a Brazilian butt lift every once in awhile, but rather than dwelling on it, I focus on the fact that, thanks to Desiree (you get full credit here 🙂 and her Body Shock and HIIT classes, my booty is a little bit firmer, a little more lifted, and a little more defined.

    • #2 by fitdesiree on April 26, 2012 - 12:00 am

      Thanks for sharing, Maya! You have a fabulous bottom and I am honored to get credit for it:)

Leave a Reply

