The Benefits of Booty Shaking!

Booty bumping with Mitchell Anderson!

“Shake shake shake, shake shake shake, shake your booty!”–K.C. and The Sunshine Band

This summer I attended a lecture given by Chuck Wolf, MS, FAFS, the director of Human Motion Associates in Orlando, FL, called ‘Regression to Progression: Strategies For Program Design.’  He covered many important topics in this lecture, but one topic in particular struck a chord with me.  Tri-planar pelvic mobility.

**Quick and basic anatomy/physiology lesson: there are three planes of motion in which we move, sagittal, frontal, and transverse.  The sagittal plane divides the body into right and left; movement in this plane is up and down.  The frontal plane divides the body into front and back; movement in this plane is sideways.  The transverse plane divides the body into top and bottom; movement in this plane is rotational.**

Mr. Wolf discussed the importance of tri-planar movement in all the joints of the body, but when he discussed pelvic (hip joint) mobility, I had an Aha! moment.  I never really thought about how important it was to keep the hip joints flexible until he brought up what he calls the “Florida Shuffle,” a term describing the gate evident in most inactive retirees over the age of 80.  Since I am from Florida and am quite familiar with said shuffle, AND I love pelvic movement, this topic struck a chord within me.  I have always known that my Dance Fitness class was a beneficial group exercise class that provided cardio activity and some weight bearing activity, but after Mr. Wolf brought up tri-planar hip mobility, I realized my Dance Fitness class (actually all of my dance classes, but Dance Fitness in particular) provided much more.  Dance Fitness serves as a “Florida Shuffle” prevention class with lots of tri-planar hip movement! How does Dance Fitness provide tri-planar hip movement?  With booty shaking!  I try to fit pelvic movements into all of my classes when I can (e.g. hip rolling in Cardio Jazz and Jazzitude, thrusting in desir80s, and booty shaking in Dance Fitness).  Ask anyone who has taken one of my classes; pelvic gyrating to me, is like crotch grabbing to MJ — I can’t help it and it just feels right.

I hope that by this time I have at least piqued your interest in increasing the mobility in your hips, and you would like to begin taking steps to prevent the “Florida Shuffle” from appearing in your future.  There are several different ways to shake your booty, all of which can be practiced in the privacy of your own home, that is, until you’re ready to go public with your skills.  As I mentioned before, there are three planes of motion in which we move which makes for many different booty shaking techniques.  Do not get discouraged if your first attempt at booty shaking does not meet Shakira standards, it takes practice.

Since it’s a little difficult to explain my repertoire of hip movements, I have provided a short instructional video for you.  Just remember these two things when embarking on your journey to better hip mobility:

  1. Practice makes perfect.
  2. There’s really no wrong way to shake your bum.

 Now go forth and gyrate!

 

  1. #1 by Meg on February 19, 2012 - 7:50 pm

    I have a lot of trouble with my hips since they are both turned in (one side more than the other), but I’ll toss out a testimonial that my physical therapist and I have both seen an improvement in my hips since I started dancing with Desiree 😉

    • #2 by fitdesiree on February 19, 2012 - 8:39 pm

      Yay for hip improvement! Thanks, Meg:)

Leave a Reply

